Our Top Gold IRA Companies at a Glance
A gold IRA puts physical, IRS-approved gold and silver inside a self-directed retirement account. The company you pick will help you open that account, move money into it, buy the metals, and ship them to an approved depository. That company also sets much of what you pay, both upfront and every year. So the choice matters more than most people expect.
We compared gold IRA companies on the things that change your real cost and your experience: minimum investment, annual fees, how clearly pricing is explained, storage options, rollover help, education, and reputation with independent review platforms. Two companies came out on top for different kinds of savers.
Augusta Precious Metals
- Best for: Rollovers of $50,000+
- Metals: Gold and silver
- Founded: 2012
- Reported minimum: $50,000
Augusta is built around education before you buy. The company says its educators are salaried rather than paid on commission, offers one-on-one web conferences, and provides lifetime account support. Its free Gold & Silver IRA Info Kit walks through costs, risks, and common sales traps before you ever speak to anyone.
Noble Gold Investments
- Best for: Smaller accounts and more metal choices
- Metals: Gold, silver, platinum, palladium
- HQ: Encino, California
- Reported IRA minimum: $20,000
Noble Gold suits savers who don't meet Augusta's minimum or who want platinum and palladium. It offers a Texas storage option, home delivery for cash purchases, and a stated buyback program. Its free Wealth Protection Kit covers gold IRAs, rollovers, and cash purchases.
| Company | Best For | Reported Minimum | Metals | Free Resource |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Augusta Precious Metals | Larger rollovers, education-first buyers | $50,000 | Gold, silver | Gold & Silver IRA Info Kit |
| Noble Gold Investments | Smaller accounts, wider metal selection | $20,000 (IRA) | Gold, silver, platinum, palladium | Wealth Protection Kit |
Six more companies (Goldco, American Hartford Gold, Birch Gold Group, Lear Capital, Patriot Gold Group, and Thor Metals Group) are ranked #3 to #8 below.
Minimums and fees in this guide come from the companies' own pages and recent independent reviews (listed in Sources below). Companies change terms, so confirm current figures directly before you open an account.
How We Ranked the Best Gold IRA Companies
Rankings in this space are often driven by who pays the most for placement. Our criteria are ones any reader can check:
- Cost clarity. Can you understand setup, custodian, and storage fees before you commit? Does the company explain the markup on the metals it sells?
- Total yearly cost at a realistic balance. Flat annual fees hurt small accounts more than large ones, so we look at fees relative to the minimum.
- Sales approach. Pressure tactics, "free silver" offers, and urgent deadlines are warning signs. We favor companies that teach first.
- Storage and custody. IRA metals must sit with an approved custodian in an approved depository. We look at partners and storage choices.
- Rollover support. Most gold IRAs are funded from a 401(k), 403(b), TSP, or existing IRA. Hands-on paperwork help prevents costly mistakes.
- Reputation. Ratings and complaint patterns on the Better Business Bureau, Trustpilot, Google, and similar platforms.
Not sure how to weigh these yourself? Our step-by-step checklist for choosing a gold IRA company turns them into questions you can ask on the phone.
1. Augusta Precious Metals: Best Gold IRA Company Overall
Augusta Precious Metals was founded in 2012 and lists its headquarters in Casper, Wyoming, with an office in Beverly Hills, California. It sells only gold and silver and centers its business on precious metals IRAs. On its own website, the company highlights recognition from Money magazine as Best Overall Gold IRA Company for 2022 through 2026 and from Investopedia as Most Transparent Gold IRA Company over the same years, along with an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau.
Why Augusta Takes the Top Spot
- Education before selling. Augusta's process is learn, talk, then decide. You start with the info kit, then speak one-on-one with an educator. The company says these staff are salaried and not paid on commission.
- Clear warnings about industry tactics. Augusta openly cautions buyers about "free silver" offers that raise overall cost, celebrity endorsements priced into products, and pressure to rush. That stance lines up with how a careful buyer should shop.
- Paperwork help. Augusta says it walks you through most of the forms and coordinates with the custodian to fund the account and ship metals to storage.
- Lifetime support. Customers keep access to support for the life of the account, not just until the sale closes.
Augusta Fees and Minimum
Independent reviews in 2026, including Fortune and Yahoo Finance, report a $50,000 minimum to open an IRA with Augusta. Third-party fee breakdowns describe a typical structure of a one-time custodian setup fee of about $50, a yearly custodian fee of about $125, and yearly storage of about $100, or roughly $225 a year in ongoing costs. Augusta also runs a promotion on one of its landing pages advertising zero gold IRA fees for up to 10 years for qualifying accounts; ask for the qualifying terms in writing. Our full Augusta fee breakdown explains each line item.
Reported Ongoing Annual Fees
Figures from independent 2026 reviews cited below. Custodian and storage fees vary by account and storage type.
Pros
- Education-first, low-pressure process
- Salaried, non-commissioned educators (company-stated)
- Lifetime account support
- Strong ratings and industry recognition
- Focused only on gold and silver IRAs
Cons
- $50,000 minimum rules out smaller savers
- No platinum or palladium
- Not every fee and metal price is posted online
Who it's best for: Anyone moving $50,000 or more from a 401(k), IRA, or similar plan who wants to understand the decision fully before buying. If that's you, start with the free kit.
See what Augusta's free kit covers before you talk to any gold IRA company.
Get Your Free Gold IRA Kit2. Noble Gold Investments: Best for Lower Minimums
Noble Gold Investments is based in Encino, California, and is led by founder and CEO Collin Plume. The company reports more than $2.5 billion in transactions and more than 16,000 investors served. Unlike Augusta, Noble Gold sells gold, silver, platinum, and palladium, plus rare coins, and handles both IRA purchases and direct cash purchases with home delivery.
Why Noble Gold Ranks Second
- Lower entry point. Recent independent reviews report a $20,000 IRA minimum, well below Augusta's.
- More metals. Platinum and palladium are available alongside gold and silver.
- Texas storage option. Noble Gold offers storage at a Texas depository through International Depository Services, in addition to Delaware.
- Stated buyback program. The company says that if you bought metals from it, it will buy them back.
- Royal Survival Packs. Pre-built bundles for home delivery. These are cash purchases and cannot go inside an IRA.
Noble Gold Fees and Minimum
Yahoo Finance reports an $80 application fee and $275 a year in ongoing fees ($125 administration plus $150 storage), with segregated storage standard on every account. Other reviews describe roughly $80 for setup and $150 to $250 a year, depending on storage location and type. On a $20,000 account, $275 a year is about 1.4%, so the flat fee weighs more heavily on smaller balances. Ask Noble Gold for its current fee schedule before funding.
Pros
- Lower reported IRA minimum
- Four metals plus rare coins
- Texas depository option
- Home delivery for cash purchases
- Dedicated help for 401(k), 403(b), 457(b), TSP, Roth, and SEP rollovers
Cons
- Flat fees take a bigger share of small accounts
- Fee figures vary across sources
- Celebrity spokespeople feature in its marketing
Who it's best for: Savers with $20,000 to $50,000 to allocate, or anyone who wants platinum and palladium in the mix. Noble Gold also has guides for specific accounts: 401(k), IRA, TSP, and Roth IRA rollovers.
Augusta vs Noble Gold: Which Should You Call First?
The answer mostly comes down to how much you plan to move:
| If you… | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Plan to roll over $50,000 or more | Augusta Precious Metals | Education-first process, lifetime support, and fees that become a small share of a larger balance |
| Have $20,000 to $50,000 | Noble Gold Investments | Lower reported minimum |
| Want platinum or palladium | Noble Gold Investments | Augusta sells gold and silver only |
| Want a second opinion on another company's quote | Augusta Precious Metals | Augusta says it will help you review what other companies told you |
For a deeper side-by-side, see Augusta vs Noble Gold.
The Rest of the Field: Ranked #3 to #8
Most "best gold IRA companies" lists include the six companies below, and each is a legitimate business. We rank them after Augusta and Noble Gold because none combines an education-first process, a multi-year fee promotion, and lifetime support the way Augusta does, or Noble Gold's mix of a moderate minimum, four metals, and a stated buyback. Fees and minimums below come from Yahoo Finance's 2026 comparison unless noted.
3. Goldco
- Reported minimum: $25,000
- Reported fees: $275 application; about $225 a year combined (segregated storage adds $50)
- Known for: Operating since 2006, A+ BBB rating, rollover specialists, celebrity endorsements
Goldco is one of the largest and best-known names in the industry. Yahoo Finance notes that its fees aren't posted online and that downloading its guide leads to a sales call. If you're weighing Goldco, compare it with Augusta: Augusta's education comes first, before any sales conversation, and its fee promotion can make it the lower-cost option for qualifying accounts.
4. American Hartford Gold
- Reported minimum: $10,000
- Reported fees: $230 application (sometimes waived); $225–$275 a year
- Known for: All four IRS-approved metals, educational library, storage waivers on larger accounts
American Hartford Gold has a low minimum and frequent promotions. Yahoo Finance notes its fees aren't posted online and the application fee is on the high side. Savers with $20,000 or more who want all four metals can get similar breadth from Noble Gold.
5. Birch Gold Group
- Reported minimum: $5,000–$10,000 (varies by source)
- Reported fees: About $50 setup, $100 storage, and $100 management a year (Clute Journals)
- Known for: In business since 2003; platinum and palladium; published fee schedule
Birch Gold has one of the lowest entry points. SeniorLiving.org points out that annual fees can equal roughly 4.5% of a $5,000 account before the metal markup. If your balance is larger, Augusta's or Noble Gold's flat fees take a much smaller share.
6. Lear Capital
- Reported minimum: $10,000
- Reported fees: $50 application; $235–$285 a year
- Known for: Publishing its full fee schedule online
Lear Capital is transparent about fees. Yahoo Finance notes, though, that its fee waivers require buying limited-mintage coins, which often carry higher premiums. Augusta warns buyers about exactly this trade-off, and its fee promotion is offered for qualifying gold IRAs.
7. Patriot Gold Group
- Reported minimum: $25,000
- Reported fees: $225 application (waived above $30,000); $180 a year (waived above $100,000)
- Known for: Fully online application; segregated storage at no extra charge
Patriot Gold has low published fees. Yahoo Finance notes its product selection is narrow and its buyback terms are unclear. If a clear buyback matters to you, Noble Gold states it will buy back what it sells.
8. Thor Metals Group
- Reported minimum: $10,000
- Reported fees: $0 for two years, then $250 a year
- Known for: Low upfront cost
Thor Metals Group was founded in 2023 and holds a BBB A rating (not A+), according to Yahoo Finance, and its fees aren't posted online. For retirement savings, many buyers prefer a longer track record like Augusta's (since 2012).
All Eight Companies Compared
| Rank | Company | Reported Minimum | Reported Annual Fees | Metals |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Augusta Precious Metals | $50,000 | $225–$275 (zero-fee promo for qualifying accounts) | Gold, silver |
| 2 | Noble Gold Investments | $20,000 | $275 | Gold, silver, platinum, palladium |
| 3 | Goldco | $25,000 | ~$225–$275 | Not specified in source |
| 4 | American Hartford Gold | $10,000 | $225–$275 | All four |
| 5 | Birch Gold Group | $5,000–$10,000 | ~$200 | All four |
| 6 | Lear Capital | $10,000 | $235–$285 | Not specified in source |
| 7 | Patriot Gold Group | $25,000 | $180 | Gold, silver |
| 8 | Thor Metals Group | $10,000 | $0 for 2 years, then $250 | Not specified in source |
Our advice: even if one of the companies above caught your eye, get a written quote from Augusta first, and from Noble Gold if your balance is under $50,000. Comparing written quotes on the same products is the most reliable way to see who actually costs less. Augusta's free company comparison checklist gives you the questions to ask each one:
Prefer to compare on your own? Use our 10-point gold IRA company checklist.
How Gold IRA Fees Work
Most gold IRA costs fall into four buckets:
- One-time setup. A custodian application or account-opening fee, often around $50 to $100.
- Annual custodian fee. The IRS requires an approved custodian to administer the account. Often around $100 to $150 a year.
- Annual storage fee. Paid to the depository. Commingled storage is usually cheaper than segregated storage, where your exact bars and coins are kept apart.
- The spread on metals. The difference between what you pay for coins or bars and their melt value. This is often the largest cost and the least visible. Ask for it in writing.
Flat fees favor larger accounts. $225 a year is 0.45% of $50,000 but more than 1% of $20,000. That math is one reason higher-minimum companies can still be cost-effective for the right saver.
How to Open a Gold IRA in 4 Steps
- Request information and compare. Get the free kits, then ask each company for its fees, minimum, and spread in writing.
- Open a self-directed IRA. The company helps you complete the custodian's application, usually in under an hour.
- Fund it. Move money by direct transfer or rollover from an existing IRA, 401(k), 403(b), 457(b), or TSP. A direct trustee-to-trustee transfer avoids the 60-day rollover deadline and withholding.
- Buy and store your metals. Choose IRS-eligible coins or bars (gold must generally be at least 99.5% pure; silver 99.9%). The metals ship to an approved depository; home storage of IRA metals is not permitted.
Gold IRA Rules You Need to Know
A gold IRA follows the same basic tax rules as any IRA, plus a few rules specific to physical metals:
- Self-directed account required. Standard brokerage IRAs can't hold physical bullion. You need a self-directed IRA with a custodian that handles precious metals.
- Purity standards. Gold generally must be at least 99.5% pure and silver at least 99.9%. The American Gold Eagle is a well-known exception that is allowed despite its lower purity.
- Approved storage only. Metals must stay at an approved depository. The IRS treats IRA money spent on most collectibles as a distribution, and the bullion exception only applies when the metals are held by the trustee.
- Contribution limits. New contributions count toward the same annual IRA limit as any other IRA. Rollovers and transfers from other retirement accounts don't count toward that limit.
- Required minimum distributions. Traditional gold IRAs are subject to RMDs, which you can take in cash or as metal shipped to you. Roth IRAs have no RMDs for the original owner.
Traditional vs Roth Gold IRA
| Traditional Gold IRA | Roth Gold IRA | |
|---|---|---|
| Contributions | Often pre-tax or tax-deductible | After-tax |
| Growth | Tax-deferred | Tax-free if rules are met |
| Withdrawals | Taxed as ordinary income | Qualified withdrawals tax-free |
| RMDs | Yes | No for original owner |
| Typical funding | 401(k), 403(b), 457(b), TSP, traditional IRA | Roth IRA, Roth 401(k) |
Both Augusta and Noble Gold handle traditional and Roth accounts. Noble Gold also offers a free Roth IRA gold kit.
Gold IRA vs Other Ways to Own Gold
| Option | You Own Physical Metal? | Tax Advantages | Typical Costs |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gold IRA | Yes, held at a depository | Yes | Setup, custodian, storage, and spread |
| Coins or bars at home | Yes, in your possession | No | Spread, plus your own storage and insurance |
| Gold ETF in a brokerage IRA | No, you own fund shares | Yes | Fund expense ratio |
| Mining stocks | No | Depends on account | Trading costs; company risk |
A gold ETF is usually cheaper, but you own shares in a fund rather than specific bars and coins. People who choose a gold IRA typically want direct ownership of physical metal held outside the financial system's paper assets, and accept the higher costs that come with it.
Which Metals Can You Hold?
IRA-eligible products commonly include American Gold and Silver Eagles, Canadian Maple Leafs, American Gold Buffalos, and bars from approved refiners. Augusta offers gold and silver; Noble Gold adds platinum and palladium. Rare and proof coins sold as collectibles generally aren't IRA-eligible, and they often carry steep premiums. If a company steers you toward them inside an IRA, ask why.
How Long Does It Take to Open a Gold IRA?
The application itself is quick. Augusta says getting started takes about 15 minutes. Funding takes longer because your current plan administrator has to release the money. Direct transfers between IRAs often finish in one to two weeks; 401(k) rollovers can take longer depending on the employer plan. Once the funds arrive, metals are purchased and shipped to the depository.
Is a Gold IRA Right for You?
A gold IRA can diversify retirement savings away from stocks and bonds, and many savers like owning a physical asset. It also has real tradeoffs. Gold pays no interest or dividends, prices can fall, and the fees and spreads are higher than buying a gold fund inside a regular brokerage IRA. Many planners suggest keeping precious metals to a portion of a portfolio rather than all of it. Talk to a tax or financial professional about your situation, especially before rolling over employer plan money.
Frequently Asked Questions
What Is the Best Gold IRA Company in 2026?
Our top pick is Augusta Precious Metals for savers moving $50,000 or more, based on its education-first process, lifetime support, and strong reputation. Noble Gold Investments is our pick for smaller accounts thanks to its lower reported $20,000 IRA minimum.
What Is the Minimum to Open a Gold IRA?
It depends on the company. Independent 2026 reviews report $50,000 for Augusta Precious Metals and $20,000 for a Noble Gold IRA. Some companies accept $10,000 or less.
How Much Does a Gold IRA Cost Per Year?
Ongoing custodian and storage fees commonly total about $200 to $300 a year. You also pay a spread or markup when you buy metals, which varies by product.
Can I Roll Over My 401(k) Into a Gold IRA?
Usually yes, once you've left the employer or if your plan allows in-service rollovers. A direct rollover avoids taxes and penalties. Both Augusta and Noble Gold help with the paperwork.
Can I Keep Gold IRA Metals at Home?
No. IRS rules require IRA metals to be held by an approved custodian in an approved depository. Storing them at home can be treated as a distribution, which may trigger taxes and penalties.
Are Free Silver Promotions a Good Deal?
Be cautious. The value of "free" metal is often recovered through higher prices on the rest of your purchase. Compare the total cost, not the bonus.
Get the Free Gold IRA Kit From Our #1 Pick
Augusta Precious Metals' free kit explains how gold IRAs work, what they cost, and how to avoid common traps.
Get Your Free Gold IRA KitKeep Reading
Sources
- Augusta Precious Metals: company website
- Noble Gold Investments: company website
- Fortune: Augusta Precious Metals review
- Yahoo Finance: Best gold IRA companies
- Clute Journals: Best gold IRA companies
- SeniorLiving.org: Best silver IRA companies
- IRS: Investments in collectibles in individually directed accounts